Governance & Management

SAWIP has been incorporated as an association not for gain in terms of Section 21 (company limited by guarantee) in South Africa and is exempt from paying tax. In addition it has been awarded Section 18A tax exemption status by the South African Revenue Services and, thus, has been authorized to issue tax deductible receipts to donors.

In the United States of America SAWIP has been registered as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

SAWIP is governed by two independent boards, one in South Africa and one in the United States of America. The boards are supported by an Advisory Council in Washington DC and by a University Liaison Committee in South Africa.

Although independent, the boards have created a Memorandum of Understanding and sub-committees that provide for regular communication and close collaboration.

Board of Directors and Executive Leadership

SAWIP has been incorporated as an association not for gain in terms of Section 21 (a company limited by guarantee) in South Africa. SAWIP also has public charity, nontaxable 501(c)(3) status in the United States.

South Africa Board
  • Dr Renosi Mokate (Chair)
  • Sara Bux
  • Raymond Campbell
  • Prof Ronelle Carolissen
  • Brian Currin
  • Simon Freemantle
  • Dr Ayanda Ntsaluba
  • Peter Rogan
  • Rekgotsofetse Chikane (SAWIP Alumnus)
  • Carel Kleynhans (SAWIP Alumnus)
  • Thulani Madinginye (SAWIP Alumnus)
  • Crystal McIntosh (SAWIP Alumna)
United States Board
  • Johan Broekhuysen (Chair)
  • Leonard Caldwell
  • Frank Cantrel, Jr.
  • Cheri-Leigh Erasmus
  • Laurie Oseran
  • Ambassador Robert C. Perry
  • Claude W. Roxborough III
  • Karin Strydom (Vice Chair)
  • Kevin Sullivan
  • Mary Anne Sullivan
  • Carol Wheeler
Honorary Patrons
  • Archbishop Desmond Tutu
  • Congressman Donald Payne, Sr (deceased)
  • Dr John Kani
  • Trevor Manuel
University Liaison Committee (South Africa)
  • Harry Calver (SAWIP Board Director)
  • Roger Adams (University of Cape Town)
  • Rekgotsofetso Chikane (SAWIP Board Director and Alumnus)
  • Ncedikaya Magopeni (University of the Western Cape)
  • Dr Matete Madiba (University of Pretoria)
  • Dr Leslie van Rooi (University of Stellenbosch)
Advisory Council (United States)
  • Deborah Banda
  • Simon Barber
  • Gina Barbieri
  • John Carlin
  • Anthony Carrol
  • Mowele Causey
  • Priscilla Clapp
  • Carol Corneilse, Ph.D
  • Deborah Droke
  • Jerry Easom
  • Bitsey Folger
  • Ambassador Donald Gips, Honorary Co-Chair
  • Jason Green
  • Holly Hassett
  • Peta-Sue Hellman
  • P.C. Koch
  • Kerry McKenney
  • Ambassador Ebrahim Rasool, Honorary Co-Chair
  • Mindy C. Reiser, Ph.D
  • Michael Robertson
  • Elizabeth Sandza
  • Lee Schneider
  • Phillip van Niekerk
  • Danielle Walker
  • Mary Zients

Executive Leadership and Management

SAWIP is managed by Executive Director, Chéri-Leigh Erasmus (SAWIP Alumna) in the United States and Executive Director Sibongile Khumalo and Program Director, Shannon Bernhardt in South Africa.

Financial management is a board function, assisted in South Africa by a registered financial officer, Hilary Moulang. In the US, the Board Treasurer oversees the finances with the Executive Director.

In addition, volunteer Friends of SAWIP and members of both boards are active and engaged in management functions and program implementation.

SAWIP needs your support

The South Africa-Washington International Program is helping to inspire, prepare and support South African youth to lead a sustainable democracy with a peaceful and prosperous future for all its citizens.

Donate Now