SAWIP Awards

SAWIP Leadership and Service Award (South Africa)

This award, initiated in 2012 and presented annually by SAWIP, is to recognise and appreciate those South Africans who have had distinguished careers of ethical service and leadership dedicated to the achievement of social and economic justice and the deepening of democracy.

SAWIP believes recipients to be role models for its Alumni. They are:

2012 | Advocate George Bizos SC
2013 | Dr John Kani
2014 | Advocate Thuli Madonsela
2015 | Dr Imtiaz Sooliman
2016 | Wendy Luhabe

SAWIP Ubuntu Award (United States)

This award is presented to members of the US House of Representatives and Senate who foster bipartisan cooperation to promote economic development, educational, opportunities, human rights, improved health care and good governance throughout Africa.

The following elected officials have received this award:

2012 | Rep. Donald Payne, Sr. (posthumously) and Sen. Johnny Isakson
2013 | Rep. John Lewis and Rep. Ed Royce
2014 | Sen. Chris Coons and Sen. Jeff Flake
2015 | Rep. Jim Clyburn and Sen. Richard Lugar

SAWIP needs your support

The South Africa-Washington International Program is helping to inspire, prepare and support South African youth to lead a sustainable democracy with a peaceful and prosperous future for all its citizens.

Donate Now